DIY / My Home

Pantry Makeover & the Key to a Great Space

Labeled Jars

As promised – my new and improved pantry. Like many things in  life, design & organization are ongoing and continuously evolving. They’re the secret to a great space, baby steps & maintenance.

For many of you who, just like me, don’t have the money to splurge on an extreme home makeover every season – it’s the little things that count. For me, this pantry makeover was long overdue & for only 16 bucks at Michael’s, this little jar intervention (refer to last post – DIY: Chalkboard Labels) and new & improved pantry makes me smile every time I open those doors!



The key to a great space:

Organization, personalization & patience

  • Baby steps: First of all, no matter how ugly a place can look, remember – a fresh coat of paint can work wonders for little money. Then, one of the greatest things you can do to make your house a home, in my opinion, is to surround yourself with things you love. Things are not valuable unless you love them. I have many pieces from loved ones that occupy my space. They tell the story of where I’m from, what I like and make this space my own. For example, my kitchen table, which I got from friends of the family, it’s a little beat up but I think it’s a piece that serves great purpose & I’m sure I’ll find a place for it in each one of my upcoming places.

& This is my Kitchen

  • Once you’ve incorporated those pieces, figure out what you’re missing. Whether it be a lamp to put next to your sofa to read, or a bookshelf to house your vases, pictures & books. Buy only what you need to make your space function & don’t be scared to save for it.

Fun fact: On his show, Nate Berkus said he didn’t have a couch for a while in his first place because he didn’t want to buy a piece he didn’t like. So he waited until he found the right one – obviously a place for seating is ideal, but if you’re going to invest in something, don’t be afraid to wait for it & get what you really want. It doesn’t have to happen all at once, the most beautiful rooms are built over time.

  • Maintenance: Organization is a biggie. A place for everything & everything in it’s place. De-cluttering your drawers and closets – although not visible at first glance, it gives you peace of mind. Knowing your drawers aren’t full of elementary school grammar exercises, clothes with the tag still on that you didn’t even remember you had & makeup that’s been discontinued for 5 years – it’s time, and if you’re one of those hoarders, snap out of it. This organizing part makes the maintenance much easier!

Make life simpler, group alike things together

  • Keeping a place in order: making your bed, doing the dishes – for the unlucky who, like me, don’t have a dish washer. Gettin’ it done – even if it sucks – keep in mind, it’s a crappy task but delaying it will only let it get crappier!

PS. You don’t need to splurge on the fancy organizational stuff, use what you have – I organized my clutter drawer yesterday – you know, that one neglected ‘fit as much junk in as possible’ drawer? I threw out the junk and used an empty shoe box to store what I use and need. The bottom of the box houses face creams & hair products. I then used the lid to store nail polishes. D pour débrouillarde – like my french peeps would say. Bottom line, don’t fuss over it, it’s hidden in a drawer after all.

TIP ALERT: If you’re really into the fancy stuff, get some craft paper at the crafts store and cover the boxes to make them all uniform. Or even better, get that ‘sticky back chalkboard paper’, cover & label your boxes! I mean, might as well right?

For me, the turquoise box will do for now.

Comment your tips on how to keep your life organized below!

‘Til next time,

Eve

2 thoughts on “Pantry Makeover & the Key to a Great Space

Leave a Reply

